Mom Stuff

Daily Schedule

I am the type of person who needs structure.  Although each day is a bit different, I tend to follow a fairly structured schedule. I feel prepared when I know what needs to happen and when it needs to happen. As a mom of a toddler, here’s how my typical day looks:

5:30 – 5:45 AM – Wake up and read devotion (Jesus Calling and First Five are my favorites)

5:45 – 6:30 AM – Shower and get ready for the day (makeup, hair, and clothes). I generally listen to an audio book and/or watch my favorite YouTube channels as I’m getting ready.

6:30 – 6:45 AM – Get Turner’s breakfast ready, pack lunch, load car, make bed, tidy up around house, etc…

6:45 – 7:00 AM – Wake Turner up and get him dressed for the day. We both eat breakfast.

7:00 – 7:15 AM – Play with Ally and give her food and water. Load the car and leave for the day!

7:15 – 7:45 AM – Commute. Drop Turner off at daycare and be at work by 8:00 AM.

Work from 8 AM – 5 PM Monday – Friday. On Monday/Wednesday/Friday, I work out in the gym at work for at least 30 minutes during my lunch break. During that time, I listen to an audio book. On Tuesdays/Thursdays during lunch, I run personal errands (hello Target!) and/or just relax and enjoy taking a break (check social media, watch YouTube videos, etc…)

5:00 – 5:35 PM – Pick up Turner at daycare and commute home.

5:35 – 6:00 PM – Unload car. Begin working on dinner. Turner plays downstairs.

6:00 – 6:30 PM – Eat dinner.

6:30 – 7:00 PM – Play time upstairs or go for family walk

7:00 – 7:45 PM – Bath and bedtime routine (read books, watch 15 minute cartoon, etc…) Turner in bed asleep by 7:45 PM

7:45 – 8:30 PM – Household chores (unload/load dishwasher, fold and put away laundry, clean the kitchen, pick out clothes for the next day)

8:30 – 9:30 PM – Wash face then free time for reading, internet, TV, etc… Lights off at 9:30 PM!

I should note that my husband works at night, so there are several days where we don’t get to see him during the week.  There are definitely variations to this schedule when he is at home (i.e., he may have dinner already prepared when Turner and I get home, so that leaves more time for play in the evenings). Also, on the days that he works, he gets home around 6:20 AM, so he’s able to spend time with Turner in the mornings and helps to get us out the door.

What does your daily schedule look like? Do you stick to a routine, or just go with the flow?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s